Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

close up - 17.11.2010
i'm not a lumberjack, but i am ok - 05.11.2010
tittewagen - 04.11.2010
bow chika wa wa - 26.10.2010
pointless quaver moaning - 13.10.2010

25.05.2004 - 4:34 p.m.

Ribbet

Ribbet

Croaoak

Thats enough with the foreign languages, back to (nearly) english for me and all the Bushtasmagorical parlences it affords me, so lets foot down with this entry of wierdness and make a break for the border before they realise what I've done.

Here's a thing that's become more and more apparant over here and I'd like some help from the girls/gyrls/gells, for it is of a fashionable persuasion and I know less than Abe Lincoln about current womens fashions so here we go :

Over the last few months I have been seeing more and more women wearing denim jeans ( whether full length or 3/4 ) with four or five inch turn-ups at the bottom and these are 95% of the time being worn with suede / suedette slouch boot shoe things, and as of this week, every time I saw a woman wearing either a) turn-ups or b) suedeish boot things they would also be wearing the other.

I have even seen a woman wearing a denim skirt, also with a four inch turn-up around the bottom and LO she was wearing suede boots, my question is this :

Is it possible to triangulate using testimony of D-landers, where this evil, 80's throwback fashion faux pas has come from, it's obviously come via fashion mags or designers this year but the details are elusive ?

The last time I saw anything even close was the summer of '84 and would seem to indicate ( along with other evidence ) of a re-cyclic fashion period lasting about 20 years set within another fashion cycle ( Venn Diagram like ) of about 30 years ( if the fuckin awful clothes in debenhams are anything to go by ) this is fine ( or less awful ) for the time being but would indicate a point in the near future when these cycles come into phase where our high street fashions will be harking back to the 60's AND the 80's at the same time, oh the horror, the horror.

Please help to stop this terrible thing happening by choosing not to dress like this, and picketing the big shops until they remove this garish tat from their shelves. I know that one mans mead is anothers poison an' all dat but choosing to dress like a synesthetic explosion of 60's hoops and magic-eye patterns is not helping, I thought in the future we're all supposed to have slinky uber-urban wear with hints of free thinking designers really pushing the boundries of what style is...

...rather than a load of re-hashed nastiness last seen during the petrol crisis.

Make a choice my chums and say NO

previous - next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!