Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

close up - 17.11.2010
i'm not a lumberjack, but i am ok - 05.11.2010
tittewagen - 04.11.2010
bow chika wa wa - 26.10.2010
pointless quaver moaning - 13.10.2010

03.06.2003 - 10:05 a.m.

* Not laughing at road-kill

You shouldn't judge someone until you've walked a mile in their shoes ( I would prefer to read their psycho evaluation report though ) as the options to share shoes are fairly limited these days ( outside of those *special* parties ) the next best way is to identify the humour that tickles them.

This varies considerably from the "married with children" US style lowest-common-denominator-canned laughter trype through to the UK speciality, slightly highbrow-dry-irreverant type which is rarely appreciated outside this country ( there are groups of yanks who have appreciation groups for 'UK classics', but I think that's just resurgent DNA )

To this end, and so you can pigeon-hole me from a different angle here are my most frequent places to laugh :

Get Fuzzy

Pearls Before Swine

Dilbert

Calvin & Hobbes

I've just realised that these four all feature animals with various stages of anthropomorphic character, that probably says more about my ability to relate to animals than humans ( stop sniggering at the back ) certainly it proves that animals can carry humour better than people or maybe it's just funnier because it's animals instead of people, this is especially true for Calvin & Hobbes.

In any case some universal truths apply, this can be described as a basic piece of programming ( or a piece of basic programming ? ) :

10 I'm right and you're not

20 goto 10

If you don't find at least one of these funny you need to be loaded into a garbage scow with everyone else who can't see the funny side of a technicolour zebra, and dumped far far out to sea.

If you disagree that technicolour zebras are in fact not funny then feel free to rant at me in the guestbook or on your own pages, ( but you have to let me know ) I could do with a laugh, and I promise to look really hurt as you try and slate me.

previous - next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!