Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

close up - 17.11.2010
i'm not a lumberjack, but i am ok - 05.11.2010
tittewagen - 04.11.2010
bow chika wa wa - 26.10.2010
pointless quaver moaning - 13.10.2010

10.11.2006 - 1:37 p.m.

i have returned from the wilderness to re-locate myself within the domain of
dairies.

since i was here last many things have happened, in the following order
they are

- temp'd for a bit
- got a real job
- found out real job was a nightmare of moaning people and shitty company organisation with no end in sight
- real job allowed me to get a mortgage (with J's help)
- left real job at first opportunity
- which coincided with an opening at old chemical company i worked at before going to uni
- started work selling chemicals again with a new-found sense of calm and order which can only be appreciated when you've had to suffer fools
- moved house (my first real house, yippee)
- typed this entry

i now have time to think, which may seem silly, but when you've had jobs
where there is no time to think and you're permanently reacting to crisis
and phone call after phone call without respite and people moaning at you
eight hours a day, time to think might as well be a private island with
palm trees and a free bar and naked people of whatever sex you fancy.

i will be using this thinking time to bang out d-land stuff and generally
unload my brian.

i actually used my expensive education to do some tree-swinging work for my
parents, which was fun and enjoyable and even satisfying. The complete lack
of tree jobs in my area is a bit depressing as i now sell chemicals again
instead of applying enviromental and arboricultural prescriptions to the
land in general. On the upside, selling chemicals is much more lucrative
than starting at the bottom of the professional tree rope-ladder, and now
that J has decided that she wants to be a driving instructor the extra
money is always needed.

still feels like i've sold out a bit, but thirty pieces of silver goes
farther these days than living a dream, especially when dreams only pay
five pieces of silver and all the firewood i can carry (we have a gas fire)

maybe even my sense of humour will return - gasps -

anyway, our new house is fantabulous, and i've landed on my feet once again
(sickening isn't it) we may even have enough left over to get a
conservatory built on the back, I'd like to take this opportunity to thank my parents, and my grandmother (posthumously) who's passing has allowed me to clear my depts and buy a house, at last i can get my life on track, albeit while mortgaged up to the eyeballs, but any freedom is better than none.

three cheers for progress

previous - next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!