Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

close up - 17.11.2010
i'm not a lumberjack, but i am ok - 05.11.2010
tittewagen - 04.11.2010
bow chika wa wa - 26.10.2010
pointless quaver moaning - 13.10.2010

23.06.2003 - 3:59 p.m.

Once upon a time a friend admitted to liking films in which Shit blows up, this was a bit of a surprise at the time, but it wore off quickly enough, I also have to admit I also enjoy 'shit blowing up', it's sort of satisfying and leaves a warm smile deep inside me. During my time playing at soldiers I missed the opportunity to do a 'Support Trooper Course' which basically means learning how to blow shit up with plastic explosives and 50gal drums of petrol, they gave me all sorts of automatic weapons with which I could gradually erode buildings and such like but it's not really the same.

-- Note -- should you go the the US of A, in the desert around california and nevada, are gun clubs who will, for a price, allow you to go out into the desert with RPG's and great big belt-fed guns and rip the shit out of old cars and stuff, this, I guarantee, will leave you with a grin from ear to ear which won't go down for days. ( but makes dentistry much easier )

Back in good old blighty though guns aren't allowed, probably a good idea, although the abolition of registered gun clubs and the like was a sad sad day for those of us interested in these things, so now we have to go elsewhere. While looking for a fix I found websites for manufacturers ( Lockheed Martin in this case ) to show off their latest toys, after an exhaustive search through their site I distilled it to the following four best examples of 'shit blowing up', you'll have to download the mpegs yourself though :

Javelin - pick the 3.7MB video

Hellfire II - pick the 4.0MB video

LOSAT - pick the 4.3MB video

Predator - pick the 2.3MB video

The most impressive here is the Javelin, a tube about 6 inch in diameter and 2ft long which can turn a 40 tonne steel T55 tank into a crater 30ft across and 2ft deep with some small bits of wreckage scattered around it, I think this says more for western arms development than it does about Easten Bloc manufacturing techniques.

previous - next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!