Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

close up - 17.11.2010
i'm not a lumberjack, but i am ok - 05.11.2010
tittewagen - 04.11.2010
bow chika wa wa - 26.10.2010
pointless quaver moaning - 13.10.2010

17.06.2003 - 8:53 a.m.

If you ask my work collegues, most would say I rarely inhabit the same reality stream as they do, instead prefering to lounge around in a more brightly coloured version with singing rabbits and dancing squirrels etc, this, I'm sure is a mental defense against the crushing boredom that's created ( to a greater or lesser extent ) naturally by all living humans, I would imagine that if I had Geordie's visor and tuned it to the correct frequency I could see in a multitude of colours, the wave/particles of mindlessness genererated by induhviduals, I don't think I could watch Prime Ministers question time though for fear of sensory overload.

I don't think I'm a prisoner, either in reality or just in my head, it would be nice not to have to work for someone else but the amount of work in comparison to the amount of shirking I have been doing lately barely qualifies me as employed, still it gives me somewhere to go during the daylight hours. It does however, lead nicely into the next bit.

I wouldn't mind living in Port Meirion ( where they filmed "the prisoner", if you've not been there or seen "the prisoner", it's pretty much the same as the Simpsons episode shows it, except 3-dimensional obviously ) but the commute to work would be a bitch, as such I live nearer to work in a house that is less multicoloured and more normal ( but less interesting ). This house I share with 3 others, they will be known henceforward as No.1, No.14 and No.11. My position is No.3 but these designations are not necessarily representative of our standings, i.e. the house is owned by No.11 and the newest member is No.1 so now you're allowed to be confused.

Sometime in the last year or two, No.11's decks/audio equipment was moved into the living room for a party and mixed in with my audio equipment, so one end of the room is filled with music making materials, this is a *good* thing. The arrival of No.1 has caused a problem, No.1, up until recently was studying for accountancy auditing exams ( I consider accounts auditors to be just under accountants in the scheme of things and since accountants rank just under caterpillars in my world I'm not terribly impressed ) as their room is right over the decks this causes some friction as No.1 doesn't like dance music either. I suppose this is what happens when you let No.11 write the advert for the then vacant room ( not something I'll allow to happen again )

This has reduced my capacity for having friends over for drugs'n'vinyl days which I have found to be a great remedy for the workplace blues, I used to have them at weekends but most of my friends are married and so have their weekends planned for them by the wif's and now that No.1 is here I found it is easier to have a day off, give them enough warning to clear out for the night and just get on with it, should you fancy this kind of Cake, the ingredients are usually -

Take a day off work ( fridays are best )

add a managable number of friends

weigh out enough additivs for all concerned to last until the next morning

- ( I find allowing 1 additiv per 3 hours per person is about right, an average session lasts about 15 hours )

crank up the gramophone and make noise.

Strangely enough, after only 4 hours sleep saturday morning I awoke without the normal depression associated with all night excess, I tentatively got on with saturday expecting to be crotchety and irritable but it never happened, sunday was the same, and the absence of a blue monday or terrible tuesday has left me feeling quite good, could this be a turning point in my life whereby I don't feel like shi'ite until the chemical balance in my brain returns to normal ( usually about wednesday ), or possibly they weren't very strong ( felt alright at the time though ), as far as I can see two things can happen from here, I'll forever be free of the blue monday, or, I'm in for a shock the morning after a night of potency.

( to 'Tish13, just shows that the depression isn't guaranteed, go with friends and keep them with you for a day or so afterwards 'til you're normal again, loads better than nose-candy )

Managed to finish the Goats archive today as well as having an appraisal, hooray.

Hoping that No.1 has failed his exams and so has to move back to london, this allows No.10 to move in, No.10 likes dance music and partying generally, is also better looking than No.1, have not kept this a secret from No.14 who is also of the opinion that No.1 should go, but don't want to jump the gun ahead of No.1's exam results and cause household friction in a tectonic sense.

If anyone has good ( and workable ) ideas for removing with a minimum of fuss, unwelcome housemates, I'm open to suggestions, sign the guestbook.

Another friend has threatened to get me a gig in a club in Bedford, I say threatened because it's a bit like being forced up in front of the company and doing an hours presentation except I can't rely on crib notes to get me through and each 'slide' will be presented free-hand, I know the first time is always the worst and have been 'revising' about 2 hours a night to work out which mixes work and which don't, I'm still only hitting about 80 / 90 % though, I don't like this kind of pressure. Still, once I'm old and have been doing it for a while I'm sure I'll look back and larf.

yes, larf, hmmmmmm.

previous - next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!