Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

close up - 17.11.2010
i'm not a lumberjack, but i am ok - 05.11.2010
tittewagen - 04.11.2010
bow chika wa wa - 26.10.2010
pointless quaver moaning - 13.10.2010

05.06.2003 - 12:47 p.m.

Like an oil well, I'm bored.

Sooo bored, in fact, sooo bored I'm writing stuff here with no aim or purpose other than to kill time, hasten the arrival of 5pm and avoid doing work, that frankly I can't be doing with. Not to say the work is difficult in any way other than the gradient between my current emotional position and the work being complete is way too steep, my useful period at work seems to be in between the inhalation of the first three cups of coffee and lunchtime, after that there's little point other than to keep things ticking over until tomorrow.

At this point ( this being lunchtime ) I usually start checking/lurking through the websites I visit ( see Here and also Here ( Her ) and Here )

Long ago when I first got web access on a company network the web was a much bigger place, but since then I have downloaded nearly everything that I find interesting and now I find I've curtailed my own wandering, I know that governments have been lying about aliens and black projects just as they've been lying about everything else ( have you noticed that the whole world irrespective of race or religion is controlled by grey haired old men, these photo shoots at the WTO and such like looks like the cast for Dad's Army ( as they are now possibly ))

One thing I have managed to accumulate is pictures, lots of them, about 460mb's worth at the last count and mostly from the Hubble telescope site, I find it a comforting reminder that a) there's more to life than most people can comprehend - like why doesn't classical physics correspond with the observed quantum universe, and b) they're so beautiful to look at, such complex structures on such a huge scale is just mind blowing, I know the colours are mostly artificial but they are representative so that's ok by me.

( the answer to point a) is - we've got it wrong, that's what you get for relying on work done 200 years ago, it may be observably correct but that's obviously not enough, a total overhaul of mathematical assumptions would be nice, for all our acheivements in the last 20,000 years we're still a child race, we just have nuclear rattles )

Which leads nicely ( but not smoothly ) to my next statement - The clearest indication that we are not alone in this quadrant of the galaxy is that we have not been officially contacted ( saying that, we could have been and all those old grey-haired bastards are keeping it to themselves ) The fact that every inhabited planet is not randomly beaming electromagnetic radiation into space says more about us than about ET, who's to say that this galaxy isn't a sparsely inhabited wilderness at best and a vicious jungle at the worst, all the civilisations who succeed are probably the ones who keep their heads down, develop interstellar travel, and find somewhere safe, while we sit here like a baby bird, cheeping away noisely in the dark, if aliens turn up, eat our moon, strip the atmosphere and mine the planet to the core we've only really got ourselves to blame.

A friend was complaining that there's no-where decent for her to go out ( Milton Keynes ) and everywhere she'd visited was full of cheesy music and sad, bleating moronic sheep-people, so anyone who says that the mass-homogenisation of our population into tidy marketing pigeon-holes isn't well under way has their head up their arse, from the creeping horror of 'theme pubs' to franchised 'vodka' bars we're being flattened into a thin layer of diagrams on a marketing Power-Point presentation, soon, I predict everyone will be able to have/do whatever they like, but only because everyone will want exactly the same thing ( as presented by subliminal advertising ) and one huge, globol mega-corporation will supply it to us in handy sized packages at a price that's right. When this happens I personally intend to increase the width and depth of my drug consumption to compensate until everything looks normal again. ( well, normal to me )

Rant over.

previous - next


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!